I Think We’re All Bozos On This Show

Firesign Theater

Firesign Theater “I Think We’re All Bozos On This Bus”

I Think We’re All Bozos On This Show
(Featuring a selection of novelty and comedy records for a two-hour, Dr. Demento-inspired presentation.  Originally broadcast on 26 June 2011.)

Playlist & Footnotes: http://anywhereanywhen.com/2015/09/22/i-think-were-all-bozos-on-this-show

Of course, every boy remembers the first time he is handed a Dr. Demento tape by one of his friends.  In my case, I was lucky enough to have already been hip to “Weird Al,” but knowing that there was some weirdo out there that collected oddball songs – and the fact that there were that many oddball songs out there to collect – was somewhat of an epiphany for me (as I’m sure it is for almost all 12 year old boys).  While hip, cool, punk, indie, and everything in-between has come and gone, I have never been able to shake the desire to hear a song that is pretty perverse, and probably something that will get me in trouble if repeated in polite company.

In a way, Rock ‘n’ Roll itself is the ultimate in Novelty, a crude and lewd idea of what music is that has been passed down and re-envisioned in every imaginable permutation.  And there is a certain amount of need to love weirdness and the strange when innudated with the mediocrity that passes for pop music.  Like with many other interesting forms of music, the old-fashioned novelty song has died with 8 Track, and viral videos has almost completely replaced a world that people like Dr. Demento used to fill.  But I never get tired of a jokey song, and it was with this in mind that I decided to do a two-hour Vinyl Solution and pack it full of every comedy album I’ve got.

I have to admit: this one did not go entirely according to plan.  In the last few months, my show has been entirely overrun with repeats and live bands.  I haven’t been behind the board for a live DJ show in a while.  On top of that, it has been even longer since I did an all-vinyl show.  While my heart was in it, I am clearly out of practice.  I’ve heard better mixes, but on the whole it gets better if you can get into the rhythm of it.  It’s supposed to be the kind of thing you would never normally hear on the radio.  Mistakes fall into that category, right?

There are three records that I drew heavily from for this particular episode: The Firesign Theater’s I Think We’re All Bozos On This Bus, (a record I found in a box in the back of a junk shop), Dr. Demento Presents: The Greatest Novelty Records of all Time (this particular volume focuses on “The ’70’s”), and to a lesser extent, Goofy Greats (a K-tel record that has a lot of classic novelty records, reproduced in as shitty a way as possible).  I recently found not one, but TWO pieces of Firesign vinyl in local stores, and from the moment I found them I knew I had to do a comedy show so I could feature it.  I only made it through side 1 of that Firesign record, so expect a follow-up very soon.

It is nice to get back into the swing of things, even if this show did come on a Sunday, instead of a Saturday.  (Personal scheduling problems caused me to miss Saturday, but as luck would have it, I was asked to cover for Hogwash, so it all balanced out.)  Expect more theme shows, and other such fun, as the summer progresses.  Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have more Steve Martin records to listen to.

*

I Think We’re All Bozos On This Show

01.) The Firesign Theater * Side 001 Part I * I think We’re All Bozos On This Bus * Columbia Records
02.) Banda Taurina, Genero Nunez, Cond. * La Virgen De La Macarena * The Brave Bulls La Fiesta Brava * Audio Fidelity Records
03.) Banda Taurina, Genero Nunez, Cond. * El Relicario [Excerpt] * The Brave Bulls La Fiesta Brava * Audio Fidelity Records
04.) The Firesign Theater * The Side 001 Part II * I think We’re All Bozos On This Bus * Columbia Records
05.) Barnes & Barnes * Fish Heads * Dr. Demento Presents: The Greatest Novelty Records of all Time * Rhino Records
06.) Steve Martin * Philosophy / Religion / College / Language * A Wild And Crazy Guy * Warner Bros. Records
07.) Frank Chacksfield and his Orchestra * Hawaiian War Chant * Hawaii * London Records
08.) The Firesign Theater * Side 001 Part III * I think We’re All Bozos On This Bus * Columbia Records
09.) Royal Guardsmen * Snoopy vs. The Red Baron * Goofy Greats * K-tel Records
10.) Carl Reiner & Mel Brooks * Origin of Words * 2000 and Thirteen * Warner Bros. Records
11.) The Butthole Surfers * Lonesome Bulldog * piouhgd * Rough Trade Records
12.) Ennio Morricone * Titoli (from “A Fistful of Dollars”) * “A Fistful of Dollars” Music Composed and Conducted by Ennio Morricone * RCA Victor Records
13.) The Firesign Theater * Side 001 Part IV * I think We’re All Bozos On This Bus * Columbia Records
14.) Nation Lampoon * The Mel Brewer Show * Good-bye Pop * Epic Records
15.) Paul Clayton * The Girls Around Cape Horn * Whaling And Sailing Songs From The Days of Moby Dick * The Everest Record Group
16.) Rose and the Arrangement * The Cockroach That Ate Cincinnati * Dr. Demento Presents: The Greatest Novelty Records of all Time * Rhino Records
17.) The Trashmen * Surfin’ Bird * Goofy Greats * K-tel Records
18.) Fred Blassie * Pencil Neck Geek * Dr. Demento Presents: The Greatest Novelty Records of all Time * Rhino Records
19.) The Butthole Surfers * Lonesome Bulldog Part II * piouhgd * Rough Trade Records
20.) Banda Taurina, Genero Nunez, Cond. * Espana Cani * The Brave Bulls La Fiesta Brava * Audio Fidelity Records
21.) George Carlin * Commercials * Take-Offs & Put-Ons * Pickwick Records
22.) The Dead Milkmen * The Big Sleazy * Metaphical Graffiti * Enigma Records
23.) The Firesign Theater * Side 001 Part V * I think We’re All Bozos On This Bus * Columbia Records
24.) The Butthole Surfers * Lonesome Bulldog Part III * piouhgd * Rough Trade Records
25.) Frank Chacksfield and his Orchestra * Hawaiian Wedding Song * Hawaii * London Records
26.) Tom Leher * Oedipus Rex * An Evening Wasted With Tom Lehrer * Reprise Records
27.) Spike Jones and His City Slickers * You Always Hurt The One You Love * The Best of Spike Jones * RCA Records
28.) Monty Python * Rock Notes * Monty Python’s Contractual Obligation Album * Arista Records
29.) The Crewcuts * We’re Working Our Way Through College * Crewcuts On The Campus * Mercury Records
20.) The Rebel Force Band * Chewie The Rookie Wookie * Living In These Star Wars * Bonwhit Records
21.) Ennio Morricone * Theme from “A Fistful of Dollars” * “A Fistful of Dollars” Music Composed and Conducted by Ennio Morricone * RCA Victor Records
22.) The Firesign Theater * Side 001 Part VI * I think We’re All Bozos On This Bus * Columbia Records
23.) “Weird Al” Yankovic * I’ll Be Mellow When I’m Dead * “I Lost On Jeopardy” b/w “I’ll Be Mellow When I’m Dead” * Rock ‘n’ Roll Records
24.) The Blues Brothers * Rubber Biscuit * Briefcase Full of Blues * Atlantic Records
25.) Banda Taurina, Genero Nunez, Cond. * Cielo Andaluz [Excerpt] * The Brave Bulls La Fiesta Brava * Audio Fidelity Records
26.) Loudon Wainwright III * Dead Puppies * Dr. Demento Presents: The Greatest Novelty Records of all Time * Rhino Records
27.) The Butthole Surfers * Lonesome Bulldog Part IV [Double Speed] * piouhgd * Rough Trade Records

KPSU Playlist

Leave a Reply

